View Thread
Before Posting, Please Read Our Posting Guidelines Below.

1. Use the full 4 digit year for everything you are asking your question about. Example: 1962, 1988, 2000, 2011
2. Include the correct name of your Whaler model. Example: Montauk 17, Montauk 170, Outrage 26, Outrage 260
3. Include the length when necessary. Example: 16, 17, 18, 20, 22
4. Do not post your email address anywhere on this site as it is already in your user profile.

Print Thread
Combining Businesses
nvaccaro
#1 Print Post
Posted on 04/25/10 - 5:38 PM
Personal Page

Comments: 0

I thought you guys would get a chuckle out of this. It isn't Whaler related, but I think it makes for a hell of a story.

The following is true:

I am a contractor and have been looking for a box van to put one of my crew in. I finally found one in South Carolina. I negotiated with the seller and we agreed on a price. He sent a great deal of pics and everything seemed to check out.

Now I have never bought a vehicle from a private seller, nor have I ever purchased out of state. I was going to fly to South Carolina where the seller was going to meet me with the box van. I was going to pay him and drive the van back home (9 hrs). I know you are asking, but the answer is no. I have been looking locally and have been unable to find one in good shape and at a price I could afford.

So, I booked my flight Friday afternoon and was preparing to fly to Greenville, SC this morning. I was talking to my friend Friday night and he told me I couldn't drive the truck back to Louisiana legally.

So I called the local state troopers station and found out that I would have to buy the vehicle in South Carolina, register it at the DMV and get a plate and then drive it back to Louisiana where I would then have to transfer the title and have it registered in state. This seemed way too complicated and not worth while, so I called the seller and told him we would have to ax the deal. Here is where it gets interesting.