View Thread
Before Posting, Please Read Our Posting Guidelines Below.

1. Use the full 4 digit year for everything you are asking your question about. Example: 1962, 1988, 2000, 2011
2. Include the correct name of your Whaler model. Example: Montauk 17, Montauk 170, Outrage 26, Outrage 260
3. Include the length when necessary. Example: 16, 17, 18, 20, 22
4. Do not post your email address anywhere on this site as it is already in your user profile.

Print Thread
Help With Buying Boat
dnguyen924
#1 Print Post
Posted on 05/31/09 - 2:46 PM

Comments: 0

Hi guys thank you for looking. I am really new to boating. I've been fishing the fresh and salt for awhile now and was looking for my very own boat but i do not know what to look for. I found this boat on craigs list and was wondering what you guys thought about it. It is a 1978 original classic montauk and the motor is a 1997 Johnson 90hp with less then 200hp that runs excellent. It comes with digital fishfinder/gps, Raymarine DS-500, VHF radio, and two high power compact batteries with on/off switch with built in battery charge indicator. here are some pictures of it. Is it worth 8K?

dnguyen924 attached the following image:

[52.19Kb]

dnguyen924
#2 Print Post
Posted on 05/31/09 - 2:47 PM

here is another

[53.8Kb]

dnguyen924
#3 Print Post
Posted on 05/31/09 - 2:48 PM

[52.59Kb]

Joe Kriz
#4 Print Post
Posted on 05/31/09 - 3:12 PM
Site Owner
Personal Page
Personal Album
Photo Albums
Project Albums

Comments: 452

dnguyen,

Welcome to WhalerCentral.

A few photos is OK to upload to the forums. That's about it as the forums are not designed to host more than a couple of photos.

The boat seems to be in good shape.

I sold my 1978 Montauk with a 1985 70 hp Evinrude on it for $7500

The 1997 90 hp engine with less than 200 hours (I think you meant to say) is a great engine.

Here is my prior Montauk.
The kicker did NOT go with the sale...
http://users.sisqtel.net/jkriz/Montau...ntauk.html

dnguyen924
#5 Print Post