View Thread
Before Posting, Please Read Our Posting Guidelines Below.

1. Use the full 4 digit year for everything you are asking your question about. Example: 1962, 1988, 2000, 2011
2. Include the correct name of your Whaler model. Example: Montauk 17, Montauk 170, Outrage 26, Outrage 260
3. Include the length when necessary. Example: 16, 17, 18, 20, 22
4. Do not post your email address anywhere on this site as it is already in your user profile.

Print Thread
1975 Outrage 19 fuel gauge/tank sender
Finnegan
#1 Print Post
Posted on 10/28/08 - 1:52 PM

Comments: 16

After re-rigging all new instruments on this boat for my new engine installation, I have found the new electric fuel gauge in the console does not function, and traced it to a defective tank sender. This is the first Whaler I have owned with an electric fuel tank gauge, rather than the later mechanical floor mounted gauge, so I have no experience with this situation.

I have located the sender in the tank, under a pry-out deck plate behind the console. There I found the original round red plastic cover, with hole in top for the duplex grey wire, over a raised ridge on the tank about an inch high, filled with old orange grease, with the sender unit underneath. I believe this to be all original., and replacement looks like a messy job.
As you know, this boat sat unused for 30 years, with the fuel tank barely used ever, and probably the sender went bad or is frozen. Wiring appears to be intact.

If any of you guys with classic 19's or 21's have replaced this sender, I would like to know what is involved, and what unit to buy, or if an original replacement is available. There are several different syles on the market, but not sure if the screw pattern will line up. I assume the 40 gallon tank depth is about 6"? Am I also correct that after the replacement sender is installed, I have to re-pack the tank cup surrounding the sender (about 4" in diameter) with grease?

Appreciate any help you guys can offer.