View Thread
Before Posting, Please Read Our Posting Guidelines Below.

1. Use the full 4 digit year for everything you are asking your question about. Example: 1962, 1988, 2000, 2011
2. Include the correct name of your Whaler model. Example: Montauk 17, Montauk 170, Outrage 26, Outrage 260
3. Include the length when necessary. Example: 16, 17, 18, 20, 22
4. Do not post your email address anywhere on this site as it is already in your user profile.

Print Thread
1971 16'-7" Whaler
LMWhaler
#1 Print Post
Posted on 11/20/11 - 10:54 AM
Personal Page

Comments: 1

Hello everyone, I'm new to owning a Whaler and new to the site. I've just come into possession of a 1971, 17 foot Boston Whaler. I'm not sure of the model, It has the wooden center console, the seat has been replaced with an ice chest with backrest. There is not evidence that it had bottom paint. The boat came with an Evenrude 115HP Starflite motor, I was able to verify that it a 1971 model from the tag, and what appears to be the Evinrude push button, for tilt and trim with throttle lever. The outer hull is white, with white bumper rail protector, the interior is blue, it has some small nicks and chips in the gel coat, but otherwise it looks to be very sound. The console is very weathered and I'm not sure if I can save it, plus they have cut and drilled numerous holes in the top and front. The motor, I was told ran, until they tried to replace the impeller and could not get the tubes lined back up right. Which they attempted spring of this year. The seller is going through a divorce and didn't purse the repair any further. I want to restore the boat back to original as much as I can, however, I don't want to put the motor and controls back on, would like to go to a newer 4 stroke, because of the limitations we have in California as to what rivers and lakes 2 strokes can be on. I would think the motor and controller would be useful to someone, wanting to have everything match on an original restoration, but not