View Thread
Before Posting, Please Read Our Posting Guidelines Below.

1. Use the full 4 digit year for everything you are asking your question about. Example: 1962, 1988, 2000, 2011
2. Include the correct name of your Whaler model. Example: Montauk 17, Montauk 170, Outrage 26, Outrage 260
3. Include the length when necessary. Example: 16, 17, 18, 20, 22
4. Do not post your email address anywhere on this site as it is already in your user profile.

Print Thread
Old flares
scubadog
#1 Print Post
Posted on 06/29/10 - 6:20 PM

Comments: 0

What is the recommended way to get ride of out dated flares?

davis422
#2 Print Post
Posted on 06/29/10 - 6:34 PM
Personal Page

Comments: 1

Call your local fire department. I work as a fireman in Bath Maine and we take them and get rid of them. I don't know if all departments do but we have a lot of lobstermen up here and that is what they do.

CES
#3 Print Post
Posted on 06/29/10 - 7:45 PM
Personal Page
Photo Albums
Project Albums

Comments: 7

When I was a kid, we'd pop them off into the water when they expired. Of course I'd never do that now......just acting like a kid.

Cliff
1966 13' Sport with a 1993 40hp Yamaha 2 Smoker

brooks89
#4 Print Post
Posted on 06/29/10 - 9:41 PM

If they are in good shape but simply out of date, there's no reason you can't keep them. You are required to have the proper number and type of current flares on hand, but there's no rule against having extras even if out of date, on hand. If (God Forbid) you need them use the expired ones first!

MW
#5 Print Post
Posted on 06/29/10 - 9:43 PM
Personal Page

Comments: 10

Contact local USCG Aux., they use outdated Fire ext. and flares for training.

Matt

DWinter
#6 Print Post
Posted on 06/30/10 - 5:03 AM
Personal Page

brooks89 wrote: